Bad Omens – Sumerian’s Next Big Artists of 2016


Today is like any other day for me. I arrived to my apartment early in the morning after working my first 12 hour over night shift for my work week. Immediately went to bed as staying up any longer I would have surely walked the streets of Austin terrifying people as a real zombie. After sleeping what felt like 8 hours but really was only 4 sadly I began my day by checking emails. Like my photography reaching a near infinite amount of backlog so were my emails. I don’t know which event I covered or photo I taken that has my inbox filling up with many more press emails than before now a days. I took a break scrolling through all of them to get some coffee and returned to one highlighted with the name “Bad Omens”.

I open the email and immediately look for the first link to a video or track to blast on the speakers as I begin to make breakfast in the middle of the day. Totally normal for my life right now. “Worst in Me” intro stopped me on my tracks. The music gave a familiarity to my senses but not because their sound is similar to another band but because I felt like I had listened to this before. The reason I describe this is because I’ve learned this feeling is my gut instinct telling me something. I switch from my speakers to my headphones and closed my eyes to focus entirely on the song that pulled its reins on my senses just a moment ago. It starts so heavy then trickles down to an ambient verse building up for the chorus. Vocals are so damn good. I’m not a great music reviewer by any means but this track got me hooked. That is a point of a leading track, is it not?

The band hails from Los Angeles, California and has been on the road building up a dedicated fan base touring with acts like Born of Osiris, After the Burial, Veil of Maya, Upon a Burning Body, and Erra. Now, I know some of you will listen to the track and ask why are they not on tour with acts like Bring Me the Horizon. Diversity is key. Their self-titled debut will release on August 19th so you know the will be touring extensively through the rest of 2016 into 2017. I will certainly be on the look out for Texas dates to check them out live. The album is currently available for pre-order. Check out the video for “Worst in Me,” which organically accrued 750,000 views in a month.

The band is excited and gearing up for the album release, with frontman Noah Sebastian saying, “When we began writing and recording our album, we made an agreement amongst each other that we would do it right, and do it in good taste. It was made clear the only thing that was off limits was pretending. There would be no half-assing, and no ‘settling’ on anything we didn’t truly enjoy or believe in, because nobody can ever take away your work from you if you’re able to genuinely do it for yourself.”

He continued, “With that being said, every song was written as if it would be our last, both sonically and lyrically. There are no gimmicks and there are no tricks. Every track is inspired by —sometimes even too specifically— to a true event, person, or point in time. I can say with total confidence that this record is as real as it can be, and I think that people will recognize that whether they know the story behind the song or not. These are our anthems for the broken, and our warnings for the damned. These are our Bad Omens.”

Noah Sebastian — Vocals
Nicholas Ryan — Guitar
Joakim Karlsson — Guitar
Vincent Riquier — Bass
Nick Folio —Drums

1) Glass Houses
2) Exit Wounds
3) The Worst In Me
4) F E R A L
5) Enough, Enough Now
6) Malice
7) Hedonist
8) Broken Youth
9) Crawl
10) The Letdown
11) Reprise (The Sound Of the End)
12) The Fountain

unnamed (1)



There are no comments

Add yours